7 Power Foods To Lower Your Stress And Anxiety levels

foods against anxiety

Can eating the right foods give you relief from stress and anxiety?

I believe it can make a big difference definitely, especially if you add these 7 foods to your daily intake.

Avocados

Did you know that avocados are actually a fruit? It’s true! An amazing source of B6 and folic acid that both help with proper nervous system functioning.

Berries

blueberries for anxiety

Blueberries especially are superfoods that are packed with a variety of antioxidants, these antioxidants are known to be extremely beneficial against stress and anxiety.

Oranges

In your new anti-anxiety diet oranges can not be ignored. Research has shown that by simply peeling and sniffing an orange your blood pressure drops by a few points. Imagine what it can do for you if you eat it!

Oysters

foods against anxiety

Zinc defiency can cause depression, and with these shellfish containing 7 times the serving of zinc over any other food, you may just put the nasty smell of it behind you.

Walnuts

Did you know that just one ounce of walnuts can replace your stress depleted B vitamins? With those kinds of stats this nut can’t be ignored.

Dark Chocolate

Want to reduce cortisol levels? Grab a piece (I said a piece!) of dark chocolate without the added sugars or milks. The compounds in dark chocolate helps to lift your mood, so you can stop the guilt of eating dark chocolate now.

Chamomile Tea

chamomile tea for stress and anxiety

My personal favourite tea to drink, especially just before bed. Did you know that some compounds in chamomile actually act the same way as valium for your brain receptors? If you don’tlike the tea form, you can always use the supplement form to help with stress and anxiety in your life.

Bottom line is food makes a difference, a big difference when it comes to lowering your stress and anxiety levels. I go much deeper into a set anti-anxiety diet plan in my nutrition plan to combat stress and anxiety ebook, but It simply can’t be ignored. So begin to consciouly pick out what you put in your body and use this list to help you out.

Is there certain foods that have helped or hurt your progress over relieving stress and anxiety from your life? Share your experiences in the comment section below.

14 comments on “7 Power Foods To Lower Your Stress And Anxiety levels

  1. I can’t eat berries, chocolate almonds due to kidney stones. Now I have gout and can’t eat she’ll fish. No oranges either. All my favorite foods

  2. In abundance here, all of each listed, especially the dark chocolate. You can have my oysters. Great post, Dennis. People know the value of what they eat, how it metabolizes and then yields needed and beneficial nutrients. And yet they scarf crap. Some learn. Others don’t.

  3. I really should put together a post on what not to have in your diet as well, because many anxious minds do eat decently well but then unfortunately have many anxiety increasing foods in their diet as well. This tends to cancel the good stuff out quick. Salmon is a well known mood stabilizer, as well as any tryptophan rich foods such as turkey, eggs, sunflower seeds (my personal favourite snack), and potatoes Sue. Guacamole is also worthy of being included in this list because it’s loaded with B vitamins, more commonly known as the stress vitamin. Hope this helps Sue 🙂

  4. I’m having eggs tonight. I have salmon sometimes. It’s expenxpsive tho. I usually have potatoes very day. Can’t have Idaho just russet. Hate Guacamole. Not sure but think eggs don’t agree with me.

  5. Make a yummy salad with rocket leaves, chopped oranges and chopped walnuts. The three are perfect together. Thanks for this list of food – I tend to forget about diet helping me so much.

  6. I’ve added eggs to my diet. It I’m not crazy about them. I can’t have romaine, or spaghetti Probably not pizza either

  7. That’s true but I’m losing weight on this kidney stone diet. Found out I have gout to so think more foods will be off my list. All I know is I can’t take feeling like this much longer….

Leave a comment