I See it…I Feel It…But Is It Real?

dizziness and anxietyHave you ever had a feeling that you weren’t sure that what you were looking at was real or not? Depersonalisation can be described as a recurring feeling of detachment from one’s own body, as if being in a dream-like state and not really ever in touch with reality. For many years, this was my continuous state, and at times it would be quite scary. My daily life was turned into confusion at every corner and this very troubling symptom of anxiety had me very worried. To get a good idea of what this felt like and the unsteadiness that accompanied it, you can shake your head side to side 20 times while not sleeping for 2 days straight and that should give you an idea of what I felt 24 hours a day.

Depersonalisation And Anxiety Disorders Go Hand In Hand

depersonalisation and anxiety

This is very common and many people with anxiety disorders suffer from it. My thoughts completely slowed down, my response to a simple question felt extremely challenging and the worst part of all this would be trying to explain the feeling to someone else who’s never heard of depersonalisation or felt anything quite like it. I felt like I was at a disadvantage in every single tennis match I played, and I was curious to know what it felt like to see everything as “normal” again. I wanted to rid myself of this nightmare so much that I in fact added more stress to the situation which helped to maintain these awful experiences. I started doing some research on what this was because my doctors didn’t have a clue (shocking…), and the emergency room was getting tired of putting me through tests to my head. I realized that my nervous system wasn’t able to process all the stress I was putting myself under all at once, and I finally realized that the feeling of unreality I was experiencing was my nervous system forcing me to relax and forcing me to slow things down.

This hazy view and unsteadiness was caused by a mental shift in the part of my brain linked to the amygdala which is in fact the main organ responsible for anxiety. Learning about depersonalisation helped me understand what the heck was going on with me instead of just playing the victim and feeling sorry for myself, but it took me some time longer until I was completely over this dreaded symptom of anxiety.

So if you experience depersonalziation i’d love to hear your own stories on how it has affected your life, and what you are doing about it today. Comment below and i’ll catch up with you real soon (:

9 comments on “I See it…I Feel It…But Is It Real?

  1. Interesting… your nervous system forcing you to relax and forcing you to slow things down. How relieving to learn and calming in the longer term. Love and “get” your parenthetical (shocking…).

  2. Ive been “stuck” in this state for a while now. After reading this post I think its time to start gaining a better understanding of my anxiety.
    I know I’m still in that state where I know I suffer bad GAD but I still think every symptom means I’m seriously ill 😦

  3. I’m defiantly suffering with this quite a lot recently. I think its time i started to look into my GAD a bit more. Ive been suffering for nearly 10 years now but still have a lot of problem realizing that my symptoms are down to my GAD, but I’m still convincing myself I’m seriously ill or dying.

  4. Sharnhand,

    It’s amazing how we can condition or minds to think this way. It took me 6 years to get to the point where I actually stopped, and consciously recognized what was going on in my life rather than thinking and reacting on my conditioned feared instincts. many people also feel that after suffering for years that this is just the way things are, and will be in the future. But this is false. I have a collection of 21 videos that answer the most asked questions I get on anxiety, I will be updating the release on my Facebook page so I hope you’ll stop by. This is truly a great first step to a natural solution 🙂

  5. Thanks , I have just been searching for info about this subject for ages and yours is the greatest I have came upon till now.

    However, what concerning the conclusion? Are you sure concerning the supply?

    • Many people live with the feelings until they get to a point where it affects their lives so deeply, they have no choice but to look further into it. Than they realize it’s anxiety related and are quite surprised by it…

Leave a Reply

