How To Stop Anxiety… Step 5

number_5

Taking Action

Remember this inspirational quote because it has turned my life around and will turn yours around as well, “knowing is not enough, we must apply, willing is not enough we must do.”

Taking action makes the result that we want which is overcoming the anxiety disorder possible, life can and will be the way you want it to again and better but as you already may know no one has achieved any goal that they’ve set out in life without taking action and applying their knowledge. These steps are arming you with tools that if practiced perfectly, with persistence and patience will in time bring your concerns and anxiety levels to a level that it was at one point in your life. Seeing even the smallest achievements from the action that you put in, builds your confidence which is key against panic and anxiety, lifts your spirits, and begins to bring you much needed peace in your life (something I didn’t experience for 6 years while battling generalized anxiety disorder). It also does something that you never thought it would do, it inspires others which makes you an inspiration to anyone that knows what you’re currently going through. Taking action takes a leap out of what your comfort zone is though, so be prepared. It’s very easy to not see results over anxiety in the first few days or weeks and quickly get discouraged and fall back into your comfortable fearing mindset, as well as continue certain lifestyle habits that aren’t contributing to your recovery from generalized anxiety. So be prepared to become comfortable being uncomfortable for the time being.

Dennis The Menace Who Plays Tennis20121123_185222-1

People used to ask me the same question everyday during my professional tennis playing days: “Dennis, how did you get so good at tennis,” simply because I took action every single day to improve every aspect of my tennis game. Sometimes my technique needed tweaking or tactically I needed some more practice or even extra fitness. But no matter what the weakness I came across was it was always met with a certain emotion behind it knowing that I needed something to change for the better, and knew that the change would come if I had a set plan and took action until that changed happened.

Back To The Future

I was searching around the anxiety groups online that I used to use to ask questions on, and not to my surprise I came across three posts (back to back) of people who were suffering at the same time I was! Their posts were:

“Does anxiety make you lay down all day long? Im not saying I do but dang my energy is gone.”

“Here I am thinking i’m gonna go a whole day without palpitations and boom… nope.”

“suffering from GAD, what to do?”

The Difference?

So what’s the difference between my inspirational recovery from chronic anxiety and panic, and these people who are still suffering to this day? Simply put, a decision. A decision not to take my anxiety with me through my life anymore, and apply the steps i’m outlining in what you’re reading here and just to review again those steps again are:

1) Finding the fuel needed to keep change going
2) Complete acceptance that what you’re going through is solely related to gad
3) Becoming knowledgable and building confidence from knowing how gad works
4) Building on the facts that you are still here and panic attacks have never took anyones life before
5) Taking daily action to create the change you desire

See you in step 6… The Anxious Athlete.

The Anxious Mind Uncovered will reveal the lies that many anxiety sufferers believe that may be keeping the cycle of panic and anxiety going. Pick up your free copy of The Anxious Mind Uncovered at www.anxietyend.com today.
3 comments on “How To Stop Anxiety… Step 5

  1. Pingback: Even if you have nothing to write, write and say so. | philosiblog

  2. Pingback: Day 1 Of Design Thinking | Geekinthepink2 Thinking About Design

  3. Pingback: Tips on Coping with Anxiety | SparkaliciousWit

Leave a Reply

